Wk 12 – Artist Conversation – Sage Garver

img_9810

In week 12, the class actually dispersed instead of all of us crowding up on the Merlino Gallery! Well, maybe just me I suppose, but I had the opportunity to go into the  Dutzi-Gallery and see Sage Garver’s art. Upon reading the artist’s statement, I felt an immediate tension in the room because I found out what the art on the wall symbolizes. I remember that when I was little, I was prone to being ill so many times. I enjoyed it back then because I got to stay home from school. However, as I grew older, I immediately regret ever enjoyed becoming sick because it actually is a gross feeling.

Garver is a 4th year pursuing a Bachelor of Fine Arts (BFA) in sculpting. The works on the wall are detailed illustrating the organelles in cells and the various illnesses in the form of different shapes and sizes that eradicate a cell. I took biology during the summer and I remembered all of her drawings being in my assessments. The ribosomes, golgi apparatus, and even the nucleus were all in her exhibit. img_9811

I believe that the chandelier in the center of the room, which was very noticeable being in the center, was the nucleus. Illnesses make their way around the cell, and eventually attacks the center of the cell and presents a danger to neighboring cells. A little more on Garver, I cannot imagine how much more sick she may have been in order to come up with the idea for an exhibit like this. She said that it took about a month for the whole exhibit and I am impressed at her work. To think that the emotional and physical anxiety that illnesses can bring about on one person does not amass the credit that she deserves for creating this piece of art. I sure am glad that she seems better while sharing her information and story behind this exhibit. The sculptures along every side of the wall is perfect with the precise amount of spaces in between each shell and all else.

Leave a Reply

